Peroration/contention

Because they were such boring points of contention, and they were causing a huge strain on their relationship, Madame Diapers banned Sir Diapers from his usual tedious perorations, unless his eloquent, 2-hour long rants were lamenting the state of the toilet paper industry. 

–Cindy Capleton

 

 

I stopped Harold mid-peroration to let him know I heard his contention loud and clear and strongly agree that, indeed, there should be a “Farting Room” in the office, designated exclusively for passing gas in privacy.

-Gladys Potter

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peroration/contention

  1. Velma Creen says:

    Last night, I had a dream. It was a Tuesday afternoon and I was at home. Somebody else was there with me, but I don’t know who it was. We were battling over several political points of contention. As I was thoughtfully constructing my clever peroration, I suddenly remembered that, the week before, you and Pete Palazzi had agreed to come to my place that night to help me with my taxes. I was wondering if you remembered that you were supposed to come that night, or if I should call to remind you. I vacillated over calling you because, as it turned out, my taxes were already done. I thought that I should call to let you know that, but feared that, as a result, you would not come. Dilemma: either call, and run the risk you wouldn’t come…..or…..not call, and run the risk that you forgot about coming………
    Unfortunately, I woke up before deciding. (I guess I’ll have to go back to sleep to see what happened).
    B

    P.S. Of course, in the waking world, I would have gotten your answering machine, left a message, and one of your cats would have erased it.

Leave a Reply

