Billow/hackles

Herman knew instantly that his billowy poet’s shirt, bacon cologne, and cow bone necklace was the wrong outfit choice as soon as his neighbor’s German Shepherd, Spanky, screamed from across the street, “Eff you, asshole!,” her hackles standing straight up and her eyes boring into him with judgment.

–Cindy Capleton

 

The dog was so upset with me that his hackles raised and his chest billowed as he said, “I can’t believe you thought you could take that much of my earnings for my part on Marley and Me with Jennifer Aniston! As my agent you are strictly entitled to ten percent and not a penny more.”

~Lady Schwartz

Phil had gained so much weight on his month-long Alaskan cruise that upon his return, his hamster’s hackles stood on end at the sight of his fat rolls billowing over his Lee jeans.
-Gladys Potter

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Billow/hackles

  1. wrightless smalls says:

    The sight of him revulsed me, my lunch billowed up towards my lips and my back shag turned into hackles against my neck folds. Seeking to at least appear normal I swallowed my tuna melt for the second time and plastered the shag down with sweat.

Leave a Reply

